Committee of Adjustment Mandate

The Mandate of the Committee of Adjustment is as follows:

The Committee of Adjustment/Consent Authority is an independent body appointed by Council, under authority granted by the Province of Ontario. The 2019-2022 Committee of Adjustment/Consent Approval Authority is composed of five members, who are appointed by the Council of the City of Windsor.
  • Joe Balsamo, Member
  • Dante Gatti, Member
  • Tom McMahon, Vice Chairperson
  • Mike Sleiman, Chairperson

Responsibilities and Objectives

The Committee of Adjustment/Consent Approval Authority is authorized by the Ontario Planning Act to:

  • Grant minor variances from the zoning by-law and sign by-law
  • Grant consents to sell, convey or transfer an interest in "part" of an owner's land
  • Grant consents when the terms of an agreement commits the land to a use for a period in excess of 21 years (i.e. lease, easement or mortgage)
  • Issue a Certificate of Validation
  • Give Approval of a Foreclosure or Exercise of Power of Sale in Mortgage or Charge.