Heritage Designation

  • The Province, through the Ontario Heritage Act, gives municipalities the authority to grant legal recognition to properties of historic and/or architectural importance by means of designation.
  • Designation helps to ensure the protection of these properties so that future generations are able to recognize and appreciate them as symbols of our history and our civic pride.

The two types of heritage designations available are individually designated properties and Heritage Conservation Districts. Please see our Frequently Asked Questions for more information.

Individual Designation

Part IV, Section 27 of the Ontario Heritage Act provides for designation of "property situated in the municipality that is of cultural heritage value or interest," and includes the requirement for "a statement explaining the cultural heritage value or interest of the property and a description of the heritage attributes of the property."

Heritage Conservation Districts

The Ontario Heritage Act allows for the designation of groups of properties as Heritage Conservation Districts under Part V.
The City of Windsor has established two Heritage Conservation Districts:

For general information, call 311. For detailed inquiries, contact us at:

Planning & Building Services Department
Planning Division
Suite 320, 350 City Hall Square West
Windsor, Ontario, Canada N9A 6S1
Phone: (519) 255-6543
Fax: (519) 255-6544