The Friends of the Court

Mackenzie Hall facade logoThe old Essex County Court House, built in 1855 by the firm Mackenzie Builders, Port Sarnia, was rescued from possible demolition through the interventions of The Friends of the Court early in the 1980s, with help from the Arts Council, Windsor and Region.

The City of Windsor commissioned a study which demonstrated this historic building's new potential as a cultural centre. Mackenzie Hall was the name chosen to honour its builder-stonemason and Prime Minister of Canada Alexander Mackenzie. Mackenzie Hall was designated under the Ontario Heritage Act in 1978.

The City agreed to acquire the building in November of 1981, and began the restoration process which led to its re-opening in 1985. Now, Windsor's important landmark - a rare remnant of Canada's architectural and historical heritage - is yours to continue to visit and enjoy for many more years.

Friends of the Court Report

Friends of the Court report thumbnail linkThis recent illustrated report gives an informative summary of the cumulative contributions of The Friends of the Court.

These invaluable gifts help facilitate Mackenzie Hall's continued operation as a community cultural centre.

Dedicated volunteer labour and ingenuity have funded more than $1 million to enhance the Hall's development.

The Friends of the Court Volunteer Opportunities:

Photo of of volunteersThe Friends of the Court does work throughout the year to ensure that Mackenzie Hall remains a vibrant cultural centre. Please feel free to contact us at the phone number or e-mail below if you are interested in volunteering.

Helen Bowie
Phone: 519-969-1044
Volunteer Coordinator
The Friends of the Court
Mackenzie Hall Cultural Centre
3277 Sandwich Street,
Windsor, Ontario
Phone: 519-255-7600